فريق الروضة

لمحة عامة عن روضة الأطفال في Nottingham أدناه ، أو انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد عن معلمي الصف K!


Nottingham يقوم معلمو رياض الأطفال بتصميم أنشطة تعليمية شيقة لتشجيع الأطفال على اكتشاف اكتشافات جديدة.

كتابة رياض الأطفال
دمج لوس أنجلوس في الرياضيات بالأسماء.

فصولنا الدراسية هي أماكن نشطة حيث يركز التعليم على الوحدات المواضيعية التي تستفيد من الاهتمامات الطبيعية للأطفال في التغيرات الموسمية والطقس. مع بدء العام الدراسي ، تركز التعليمات على التواجد في مدرسة جديدة رائعة والتعاون مع أصدقاء جدد في العمل واللعب. تقدم موضوعات الحصاد في الخريف تغييرات في الخريف في النباتات والحيوانات والتعرف على المزارع. تستكشف موضوعات الشتاء مفاهيم الفضاء والعلاقة بين الشمس والأرض والقمر والكواكب. يدعو تساقط الثلوج إلى التحقيق في دورة المياه. يجلب الربيع فحصًا للعجلات والنقل والآلات البسيطة. نزرع حدائق الربيع ونستكشف دورات حياة الحيوانات ؛ يشاهد الأطفال بسحر عندما تتحول الضفادع الصغيرة ببطء إلى ضفادع. مع اقتراب فصل الصيف ، يبدأ الأطفال في التخطيط للعطلات والتعرف على الشاطئ وفحص خصائص المياه. ثم نستعد لإنهاء عامنا الرائع معًا والاستعداد لبداية جديدة تمامًا عندما تبدأ المدرسة مرة أخرى.

برنامج رياض الأطفال في Nottingham يعتمد على برنامج ABC (منهج أرلينغتون المتوازن) الذي كتبه متخصصو الطفولة المبكرة في أرلينغتون منذ عدة سنوات. وهو يشتمل على معايير فيرجينيا للتعلم (SOLs) والبرنامج الأولي للدراسات في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة (APS).

  • ينصب تركيز برنامجنا على التوازن: الجمع بين تجارب واقعية وذات مغزى ، داخل وخارج الفصل الدراسي وبيئة المدرسة.
  • يتعلم الأطفال تطبيق مهارات ومفاهيم جديدة من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الوحدات المواضيعية التي توفر فرصًا للاستقصاء والنشاط والتفكير والتفكير والتجريب والاستقصاء والخيال وبناء النماذج والاستدلال.
  • يتضمن التوازن في برنامجنا جميع جوانب نمو الطفل: التفاعلات الاجتماعية ، والنمو العاطفي ، والحركة الجسدية ، والقدرة المعرفية.
  • عدد Nottingham يتزايد عدد أطفال رياض الأطفال الذين التحقوا بمرحلة ما قبل المدرسة بالفعل ، ومع ذلك لا يزال جميع أطفال رياض الأطفال بحاجة إلى خبرات تعليمية مناسبة من الناحية التنموية تركز على الطالب وتركز على عملية التنفيذ بدلاً من مجرد التركيز على المنتج النهائي.
  • يتيح التوازن Nottingham مدرسو رياض الأطفال القدرة على التفريق بين التدريس من أجل تلبية احتياجات كل طالب على حدة.

يعتمد هذا البرنامج على أهداف تطور النمو العاطفي والاجتماعي والمعرفي والجسدي لكل طفل. نحن نوفر بيئة تعليمية آمنة ومأمونة حيث يعمل الأطفال بشكل مستقل وتعاوني لتعزيز فضولهم من خلال التجريب والاكتشاف. نحن نبني مجتمعًا من المتعلمين السعداء ونلهم الحماس لمتعة التعلم!

تنتقل الأنشطة خلال العام من ملموسة إلى أكثر تجريدية ، و Nottingham يستخدم معلمو رياض الأطفال مجموعة متنوعة من النماذج التعليمية: مجموعات صغيرة يقودها المعلم ، والمساعدة الفردية ، ومقدمات الفصل بأكمله أو المراجعة ، ومجموعات صغيرة من الأطفال الذين يعملون بشكل تعاوني مع بعضهم البعض.

At Nottingham، قام الطلاب في رياض الأطفال والصف الأول بمشاركة Apple التعلم المخصص iPadق مخصصة لفصولهم الدراسية. من خلال هذا التكامل ، وبالاقتران مع تدريب الموظفين كجزء من برنامج التعلم المخصص APS ، هناك العديد من مزايا الطلاب للتعلم الشخصي ، مثل:

- يتم تحدي الطلاب في التفكير بشكل نقدي واستخدام مهارات أعلى مستوى.
- ينخرط الطلاب بشكل أكبر في التعلم عندما يتم منحهم المزيد من الفرص للسيطرة على تعلمهم.
- يستطيع المعلمون تقديم ملاحظات فورية حتى يتمكن الطلاب من إجراء تعديلات على تفكيرهم وتحسين عملهم.
- يستكشف الطلاب طرقًا أكثر إبداعًا لحل المشكلات والتعبير عن أفكارهم وإنشاء تعلم جديد وتطوير المهارات للعمل كجزء من فريق في الفصل الدراسي وبشكل افتراضي.


مدرسو الصف K

السيدة بيخمان
لورا بوبيتشكو (Sub-term Sub)

katie.biechman@apsva.us
laura.bobeczko@apsva.us
تغريد: تضمين التغريدة

مرحبا Nottingham العائلات! اسمي كاتي بيشمان. لقد درست روضة الأطفال في Nottingham منذ عام 2009. ولدت في واشنطن العاصمة ونشأت في الإسكندرية ، فيرجينيا. التحقت بجامعة كريستوفر نيوبورت ، حيث حصلت على شهادتي الجامعية. ثم حصلت على درجة الماجستير في التعليم الابتدائي من جامعة جورج واشنطن. أعيش في فولز تشيرش مع زوجي وكلبنا جروفر. أستمتع بالذهاب إلى الشاطئ ولعب التنس وتشجيع كرة القدم في يوركتاون. إنني أتطلع إلى عام رائع آخر مع السلاحف البحرية!

السيدة باتريشيا دوران ، مساعدة روضة أطفال ، patricia.duran@apsva.us

 


السيدة بارنيت

lisa.mathisbarnett@apsva.us
تغريد: تضمين التغريدة

أنا ليزا بارنيت وأنا أدرس في غرفة الدب. جئت إلى Nottingham في عام 2015 ، ولم تنظر إلى الوراء أبدًا. في السابق ، قمت بالتدريس في الحضانة في مدرسة خاصة محلية ، بعد أن أنجبت أطفالي. أنا أصلاً من كاليفورنيا ، حيث تخرجت من جامعة كاليفورنيا في سانتا باربرا وأتيت للتدريس كمبدّل وظيفي بعد حصولي على ماجستير التربية من مدرسة ماريماونت للتطوير المهني. أعيش في أرلينغتون مع عائلتي وكلبي. إنني أتطلع إلى مقابلة جميع طلابي الجدد وإلى عام آخر بهيج في رياض الأطفال!

السيدة فورتين ، مساعدة روضة أطفال ، kim.fortin@apsva.us


السيدة لورا مور

laura.moore@apsva.us
تغريد: تضمين التغريدة

مرحبا ماعز الجبل! اسمي لورا مور. أعمل في وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية منذ 2011 وانضممت إليها Nottingham خلال العام الدراسي 13-14. أنا أصلاً من كولورادو ، حيث حصلت على بكالوريوس الآداب في التعليم الابتدائي وماجستير الآداب في التدريس: دراسات المناهج في جامعة شمال كولورادو. أعيش في أرلينغتون مع زوجي وابنتي. أستمتع باستكشاف المنطقة مع عائلتي ، والقيام بمشاريع فنية ، والسفر ، والذهاب إلى مباريات البيسبول. إنني أتطلع إلى عام رائع مع ماعز الجبل.

السيدة كارول شيهان ، مساعدة روضة أطفال ، carol.sheehan@apsva.us


السيدة لوين (التعليم الخاص)

dina.lewin@apsva.us
تويتر: …

بدأت التدريس في Nottingham في بداية العام الدراسي 2019 ، بعد توقف دام 12 عامًا كإقامة في المنزل. قبل ذلك ، قدمت دعمًا تعليميًا خاصًا في رياض الأطفال في مدرسة ماكينلي الابتدائية ثم درست طلاب الصف السادس إلى الثامن في برنامج المهارات الحياتية في مدرسة سوانسون المتوسطة. لديّ درجة جامعية في تنمية الأسرة / الطفل وعلم النفس من Virginia Tech (Go Hokies!) وماجستير في التربية الخاصة من جامعة جورج ميسون. التدريس هو ثاني مهنتي ، بعد أن عملت كأخصائي اجتماعي يخدم البالغين ذوي الإعاقات الذهنية في مدينة الإسكندرية لأكثر من خمس سنوات. تشمل هواياتي الطبخ والسفر وقضاء الوقت مع الأصدقاء والعائلة. أعيش في أرلينغتون مع زوجي ، وطفلينا ، وقطعة ذهبية صغيرة رائعة ورقيقة. أحب أن أكون جزءًا من Nottingham الفريق!

Kindergarten Team

For MS Teams and Canvas Homeroom Course Links for STUDENTS, click here

An overview of Kindergarten at Nottingham is below, or click here to learn more about the grade K teachers!


Nottingham kindergarten teachers design intriguing learning activities to encourage children to make new discoveries.

kindergartener writing
Incorporating LA into math with names.

Our classrooms are active places where instruction centers on thematic units that capitalize on children’s natural interests in seasonal and weather changes. As the school year begins, instruction focuses on being in a wonderful new school and cooperating with new friends in work and play. Harvest themes in the fall introduce fall changes in plants and animals and learning about farms. Winter themes explore space concepts and the relationship between the sun, earth, moon, and planets. Falling snow invites investigation of the water cycle. Spring brings an examination of wheels, transportation, and simple machines. We plant spring gardens and explore animal life cycles; children watch with fascination as tadpoles slowly turn into frogs. As summer nears, children begin to plan vacations, learn about the beach, and examine the properties of water. We then prepare to end our wonderful year together and to get ready for a brand new start when school begins once again.

The kindergarten program at Nottingham is based on the ABC (Arlington Balanced Curriculum) program written by Arlington early childhood professionals several years ago. It incorporates the Virginia Standards of Learning (SOLs) and the Arlington Public Schools (APS) Elementary Program of Studies.

  • The emphasis of our program is on balance: combining meaningful, real-life experiences, both inside and outside the classroom and school environment.
  • The children learn to apply new skills and concepts through a variety of thematic units that provide opportunities for inquiry, activity, thoughtfulness and reflection, experimentation, investigation, imagination, model-building, and reasoning.
  • Balance in our program involves all aspects of child development: social interactions, emotional growth, physical movement, and cognitive ability.
  • The number of Nottingham kindergartners who attended preschool is indeed increasing, yet all kindergartners continue to need developmentally appropriate learning experiences that are student-centered and focused on the process of doing rather than simply on the final product.
  • Balance enables Nottingham Kindergarten teachers the ability to differentiate instruction in order to meet the needs of each individual student.

This program is based on goals that develop the emotional, social, cognitive, and physical growth for each child. We provide a safe and secure learning environment where children work both independently and cooperatively to enhance their curiosity through experimentation and discovery. We build a community of happy learners and inspire an enthusiasm for the joy of learning!

Activities move during the year from the concrete to the more abstract, and Nottingham Kindergarten teachers utilize a variety of instructional models: small teacher-led groups, one-on-one assistance, whole class introductions or review, and small groups of children working cooperatively with one another.

At Nottingham, students in kindergarten and first grade have shared personalized learning Apple iPads assigned to their classrooms. Through this integration, and in conjunction with staff training as part of the APS Personalized Learning Program, there are many student benefits of personalized learning, such as:

– Students are challenged to think critically and use higher order level skills.
– Students are more engaged in learning when they are given more opportunities to take control of their learning.
– Teachers are able to offer immediate feedback so that students can make adjustments to their thinking and improve their work.
– Students are exploring more creative ways to solve problems, express their ideas, generate new learning and develop skills to work as part of a team in the classroom and virtually.


Grade K Teachers

Ms. Biechman

katie.biechman@apsva.us
Twitter: @SeaTurtleTimes

Hello Nottingham Families! My name is Katie Biechman. I’ve taught Kindergarten at Nottingham since 2009. I was born in Washington, D.C. and raised in Alexandria, Virginia. I attended Christopher Newport University, where I earned my undergraduate degree. I then earned a Masters degree in Elementary Education from George Washington University. I live in Falls Church with my husband and our dog, Grover. I enjoy going to the beach, playing tennis, and cheering-on Yorktown football. I am looking forward to another great year with the Sea Turtles!

Ms. Patricia Duran, Kindergarten Assistant, patricia.duran@apsva.us

 


Ms. Barnett

lisa.mathisbarnett@apsva.us
Twitter: @Barnetts_Bears

I am Lisa Barnett and I teach in The Bear Room. I came to Nottingham in 2015, and never looked back. Previously,I taught preschool at a local private school, after having my own children. I am originally from California, where I graduated from UC Santa Barbara and came to teaching as a career switcher after receiving my M.Ed from Marymount’s Professional Development School. I live in Arlington with my family and two dogs. I look forward to meeting all my new students and to another joyful year in kindergarten!

Mrs. Fortin, Kindergarten Assistant, kim.fortin@apsva.us


Ms. Laura Moore

laura.moore@apsva.us
Twitter: @MooreUKnow

Hello Mountain Goats! My name is Laura Moore. I have been in APS since 2011, joining Nottingham during the 13-14 school year. I am originally from Colorado, where I got my Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education and Master of Arts in Teaching: Curriculum Studies at the University of Northern Colorado. I live in Arlington with my husband and daughter. I enjoy exploring the region with my family, doing art projects, traveling, and going to baseball games. I am looking forward to a great year with the Mountain Goats.

Ms. Carol Sheehan, Kindergarten Assistant, carol.sheehan@apsva.us


Ms. Lewin (Special Education)

dina.lewin@apsva.us
Twitter: …

I started teaching at Nottingham at the start of the 2019 school year, after a 12-year hiatus as a stay-at-home. Prior to that, I provided special education support in kindergarten at McKinley Elementary School and then taught 6th-8th graders in the Life Skills program at Swanson Middle School. I have an undergraduate degree in Family/Child Development & Psychology from Virginia Tech (Go Hokies!) and a Masters in Special Education from George Mason University. Teaching is my second career, after having worked as a social worker serving adults with intellectual disabilities in the City of Alexandria for over five years. My hobbies include cooking, traveling, and spending time with friends and family. I live in Arlington with my husband, our two kids, and our adorable, fluffy mini goldendoodle. I love being part of the Nottingham team!